(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Crash > What prevents the Captain from taking off with the incorrect flap settings?
What prevents the Captain from taking off with the incorrect flap settings?
Aviation - Air Crash
Sunday, 21 August 2011 16:54

Delta Airlines Flight 1141 Crash

Hello Captain Lim,

Thanks for the great site; you have helped me a lot. I am a regular flyer (about twice a week) and I don’t really get too anxious about flying anymore.

Anyways, just recently I have noticed that just before takeoff, the pilots lower the flaps or something along those lines so there is a slight hole in the wing.

I have only noticed this since I watched an air crash investigation in which the pilots had the flaps in the wrong position on takeoff and the plane spiraled out of control as soon as it left the ground.

Ever since I have seen this, I have watched the wing anxiously just before takeoffs to make sure the flaps are in the normal position.

My two questions are:

1. What would happen if the plane took off with the flaps in the incorrect position?