What factors lead a
Hi Captain Lim! Thank you so much Sir, you enligh

What do you think ab
i am from Taiwan, now planing to PEA, but after re

Etihad Airways Cadet
hi sir i am Ashutosh mahajan from india and my dr

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Crash > Could the wasp have contributed to the Birgen Air Boeing 757 crash?
Could the wasp have contributed to the Birgen Air Boeing 757 crash?
Aviation - Air Crash
Sunday, 27 January 2013 07:41

Air Crash Investigations - Mixed Signals

Dear Capt Lim,

I'm an instrument-rated pilot based in Tehran. I would like to highlight something in order to improve Aviation Safety.

I`ve watched the Air Crash Investigations videos hundreds of times.

I have a question on the safety of the Boeing 757.

I believe you know the reasons and the circumstances that led to Birgen Air 301 crash. Anyway, just by pushing the control column forward, that crash could have been averted.

Mohammad

Hi Mohammad,

As we all know Flight 301 was a Boeing 757 chartered flight from the Dominican Republic to Frankfurt and managed by a Turkish airline Birgenair. It crashed shortly after take-off on 6 February 1996.

“Investigators believe that the most likely culprit was the black and yellow mud dauber, a type of solitary sphecid wasp well-known to Dominican pilots, which tends to establish its nest in artificial, cylindrical structures, or make its own cylindrical nest out of mud. The aircraft had not flown in 25 days, during which time the pitot tubes were not covered, giving the wasps an opportunity to build nests in the tubes.”(see here)

It is interesting to note that there are some similarities with 2 other crashes.

The first one was Aeroperú Flight 603, involving a Boeing 757 also in 1996 - suffered from a similar but far more difficult situation (static ports blocked by tape, rendering all airspeed indicators and pressure altimeters unusable) and crashed in the ocean off Peru.