Latest Comment

Can you become an ai
Hi captain, I met with a road accident and got a s

Why do I experience
Having just returned from Newfoundland...I had two

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Crash > Are twin turboprop engines as safe as twin jet engines planes?
Are twin turboprop engines as safe as twin jet engines planes?
Aviation - Air Crash
Thursday, 05 February 2015 14:31

TransAsia Airways ATR 72 Crash

Hi Capt Lim,

Are twin turboprop engines planes as safe as twin jet engines planes? Why is a loss of one turboprop engine resulted in an air crash?

Can we assume that a turboprop engine doesn’t have surplus power as much as jet engines aircraft?

Danny Chau

Hi Danny,

To begin with, a turboprop plane has a smaller jet engine to turn the propellers whereas a jet engine has a bigger pure jet engine providing the thrust. So both basically make use of the jet engine – but a turboprop plane must not be confused with a plane that used piston engine to turn the propellers. (Turboprop engines are more reliable than piston engines which are found in smaller planes)