(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Crash > Brazil Airbus A320 Crash - Why couldn't the pilot slow down the plane on time?
Brazil Airbus A320 Crash - Why couldn't the pilot slow down the plane on time?
Aviation - Air Crash
Saturday, 21 July 2007 08:59

Hi Capt Lim,

Regarding the Airbus A320 crash in BRAZIL this week, why did the pilot speed up to do a go around when he was already on the runway? He could have done all he could to slow the jet down.

Don A

Hi Don,

I don't know why the pilot decided to do what he did (going around when he was already on the runway) until the exact details are revealed by the black box. The communications and what transpired would be recorded by the CVR (cockpit voice recorder) and the technical details will be shown on the FDR (flight data recorder). Both the recorders are part of the black box.

I know many people will start to speculate on the causes of the crash (the runway was short and wet, one of the reversers was unserviceable, etc).