(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Crash > What lesson can pilots learn from this air crash?
What lesson can pilots learn from this air crash?
Aviation - Air Crash
Monday, 14 November 2005 08:08

Hello Capt Lim,

After reading through your articles, I have just realized that an aircraft could land and stay afloat on water. How stable would it be? (Probably depending on sea condition?) I know a ship will not capsize if its CG (Center of Gravity) is not threatened even though it is in rough sea conditions.

Secondly, are pilots taught seamanship and *survival at sea* skills so that they can impart the essential knowledge of surviving at sea to the passengers if they were to crash-land at sea?

Lastly, what can you comment on this: "On 11 December 1998 a Thai Airways Airbus A310 HS-TIA crashed into a hill during its third attempt to land at Surat Thani Airport in bad weather. The ILS system was shut down at the airport, forcing the crew to use less accurate VOR signals. 101 out of 106 passengers and crew members perished."

What would most pilots do in such a situation?