(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Crash > How Wake Turbulence brought down American Airlines Flight 587
How Wake Turbulence brought down American Airlines Flight 587
Aviation - Air Crash
Tuesday, 10 February 2009 12:02
Dear Capt Lim,

First I would like to congratulate you for this very useful FAQ section.

I am very uncomfortable flying but what used to calm me down was what a pilot once said: "turbulence doesn’t make a plane to crash, it is only uncomfortable".

However, after watching the video about the Airbus A300 crash in NY 2001, it made me feel that the rough turbulence DID make that plane to crash (plus the lack of experience of the co pilot since I imagine that as a pilot, he surely went through and passed all of the training he was supposed to have undergone)

So now, my fear is even bigger... yes, turbulence can take a plane down!

I would appreciate if you could explain to me more about that crash.

Was that turbulence really a tough one and could any pilot have made such a mistake (that led the plane to crash...)?

Thank you.

Leticia (Brazil)

Hi Leticia,