(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Safety > Are longer flights safer than short distance flights?
Are longer flights safer than short distance flights?
Aviation - Air Safety
Friday, 28 October 2011 18:12

How to cope with fear of flying

Hi Capt Lim,

I've learned much about turbulence and flying from your site. Thank you! But I still have a few questions and hope you can help answer them...

1. It seems that bigger planes are better at dealing with turbulence. Does the height that planes fly at also have something to do with it? Almost every year, I fly from Canada to Asia over the Pacific and never have encountered horrible turbulence (knock on wood). But this time I flew within China, oh on a 2-hour flight and it was shaking for a good hour! So I wonder if planes flying at a lower height on short distance, does it encounters more turbulence?