(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Safety > Is flying in general aviation safer than driving?
Is flying in general aviation safer than driving?
Aviation - Air Safety
Monday, 25 February 2013 15:54

Farmer Flying – Slow Flight Handling and Piloting

Hi Capt Lim,

I am a farmer from NSW Australia and have a problem that my wife wants to move to a city to better educate the kids which is 2 hours’ drive from the farm.

I don't want to sell the farm, I came across the light sport aircraft which is cheap to run and there are a lot of different types.

I just want to know whether it would be safe to fly every day to the farm and back which is 140 km direct or are they too small to make this idea feasible.

Regards

John,

Hi John,

When you read statistics referring to flying as being very safe when compared to driving, you must read the small print that this refers to commercial planes in major airlines only. However, safety for general aviation (covering everything from small planes such as the Cessna 152s to flying corporate jets) the safety standard is generally lower.