(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Safety > Has improvement in tackling human factors reduced air accidents?
Has improvement in tackling human factors reduced air accidents?
Aviation - Air Safety
Thursday, 12 December 2013 15:36

Asiana Flight 214 Crash at San Francisco

Dear Captain Lim,

I read your book Life in the Skies. It was informative for a non-aviator like me.

I am a semi-retired technical manager in the semi-conductor manufacturing industry.

My question is: is there statistical evidence of reduction of both fatal and non-fatal air crash accident related to the human factors (pilot, air-traffic controller, airport maintenance crews etc).

Specific references are SIA 006 accident in Taiwan CSK airport in 31 Oct 2000 and Asiana 214 at USA SFO airport on 6 Jul 2013.

Despite a period of about 13 years of lessons learnt, a major fatal accident related to human factor still happened.

While we look forward to read the details of NTSB investigative hearing conducted on 11 Dec 2013, I hope flying can be made safer by enhancing on CRM and other human related safety programme.