Latest Comment

Vomiting on long hau
I have traveled a lot (almost 2 million miles) the

Can you become an ai
Hi captain , I had an accident 15 yrs ago and ha

Does a jet aircraft
Reading through the comments was both entertaining

Does a jet aircraft
So many nonsense here... Earth isn't flat. Period.

What are the cruisin
"how in the hell can you reach JFK if you leave fr

What are the eyesigh
tjsoihsdojfsioufs f post

What are the procedu
Hello Sir, I am currently B737NG Cpt.TRI /TRE hol

Could an A320 pilot
I plan to do ATR 72 -600 type rating , for that be

Is there less turbul
Flying from San Francisco to Philippines, end of M

What you have to do
Hi Capt . Im a grade 12 student and i really want

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Safety > Where is the best and safest seat in the airplane?
Where is the best and safest seat in the airplane?
Aviation - Air Safety
Thursday, 06 December 2007 19:45

Comfort for seating in airplanes in terms of width and legroom varies from one to the other or even on the same plane. (Passengers are getting more concerned about legroom today due to the DVT scare.) The best seats are found in the first class. They are usually at least 22 inches wide with between 60 to 90 inches of legroom. Business class passengers enjoy only 45 to 50 inches of legroom whereas the economy or coach section’s seat width is 17 to 18 inches and its legroom is crammed to between 31 to 34 inches depending on whether it is on an International or domestic sector.

Whilst there are better seats, there are also seats that one should only choose as a last resort, especially those near the toilets and galley. Choose an aisle seat a few rows from the toilets as the crowd waiting to use them becomes very heavy especially after a meal or about an hour prior to landing.