(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Safety > How airplanes avoid colliding in the air?
How airplanes avoid colliding in the air?
Aviation - Air Safety
Tuesday, 11 December 2007 21:26

Traffic alert and Collision Avoiding System

The Traffic alert and Collision Avoiding System or TCAS is a system that basically identifies the location and tracks the progress of another aircraft equipped with beacon transponders. It is one of the primary system that assists a pilot to avoid colliding with other airplanes in the air. Most modern aircraft, including the Boeing 777, are installed with TCAS that alerts the pilots of any traffic that is on a collision course.

The TCAS is an airborne equipment that sends a signal to another aircraft that is also equipped with a similar equipment. From the replies, the system analyze the intruding aircraft's altitude, closure rate, projected flight path to predict the penetration of the airspace above the threaten aircraft.