(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Safety > Can a pilot take a short nap in flight?
Can a pilot take a short nap in flight?
Aviation - Air Safety
Tuesday, 02 December 2008 15:12

Hi Captain Lim,

I have one simple question. In a particular flight, can one of the two pilots take a short nap during the flying? I mean, can he or she sleeps for a while in the cockpit while his colleague flies the plane? 

I know that for a long haul flight, there will be two teams to fly the aircraft alternately. But, let’s say that the pilots are too tired, flying short haul trip back and forth to the same destination in one day. Are they allowed to take a very short nap in the cockpit?  

This question may sounds a little bit silly but it keeps on popping up on my mind whenever I relieve my father on the wheels during our travel. I wonder if pilots are allowed to do the same thing in flight.  

Last but not least, congrats captain for setting up this wonderful website.    

Don Naza

Hi Don,