(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Safety > How are modern aircraft equipped to handle in-flight smoke or fire?
How are modern aircraft equipped to handle in-flight smoke or fire?
Aviation - Air Safety
Thursday, 18 December 2008 03:48

Dear Captain Lim,

In June 1983, an Air Canada DC-9 traveling to Toronto from Dallas quickly turned into an all-out emergency when passengers noticed smoke coming out from the rear washroom.

As the smoke grew thicker, the crew had no choice but attempted to land the plane. For fifteen hellish minutes, the passengers and crew struggled to deal with the thick toxic smoke.

When the plane finally hit the runway in Cincinnati, all on board struggled to exit the burning plane as quickly as they could.

Ninety seconds after touching the ground, the plane was engulfed in a ball of fire. Twenty-three of the forty-six passengers perished.

Could the oxygen mask be deployed when such in-flight smoke arose so that the passengers could breathe good air and remain conscious for at least for a few minutes until it landed as it happened on the Air Canada flight?