Latest Comment

Vomiting on long hau
I have traveled a lot (almost 2 million miles) the

Can you become an ai
Hi captain , I had an accident 15 yrs ago and ha

Does a jet aircraft
Reading through the comments was both entertaining

Does a jet aircraft
So many nonsense here... Earth isn't flat. Period.

What are the cruisin
"how in the hell can you reach JFK if you leave fr

What are the eyesigh
tjsoihsdojfsioufs f post

What are the procedu
Hello Sir, I am currently B737NG Cpt.TRI /TRE hol

Could an A320 pilot
I plan to do ATR 72 -600 type rating , for that be

Is there less turbul
Flying from San Francisco to Philippines, end of M

What you have to do
Hi Capt . Im a grade 12 student and i really want

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Safety > Is it ever possible for a plane to land so hard that the tail falls off?
Is it ever possible for a plane to land so hard that the tail falls off?
Aviation - Air Safety
Tuesday, 10 January 2006 01:50

Dear Captain Lim,

I am a great fan of flying and am most interested in designs and technology aboard the aircraft. Three things have popped into my mind:

One - is it ever possible for a plane to land so hard that the tail falls off? If so, would it be the pilot*s fault for reversing the engines too early?

Two - can pilots land under a condition that one of the engines is not operating and they have to "shut it off"? It must be hard to have to fight against the constant change in direction, say, if your left engine had failed.

Lastly - I have seen in videos where planes land on one wheel. Is it really common for that to happen?

Thanks

Eric.

Hi Eric,

The undercarriages of planes are designed to be incredibly tough. For instance, on the Boeing 777, very thorough tests had been carried out during the development stage. The plane was subjected to quite dreadful things before being even put to passenger service.