(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Travel > A nervous passenger’s curiosity about the airplane cockpit…
A nervous passenger’s curiosity about the airplane cockpit…
Flying - Air Travel
Friday, 13 January 2012 14:38

Airbus A320 Cockpit (Note Black & White Trim Wheel)

Hello Capt Lim,

I'd firstly like to thank you for your site.  I have found the answers to many aviation questions I was curious about. There is however a couple I've not managed to find the answers to.

1. What are the black and white wheels next to the thrust leavers for? They seem to spin on their own sometimes.  I only ever recall seeing them in videos of Airbuses but am not totally sure if it's just the Airbuses that have them?

2. When I see videos from Airbus flight decks they always look strange to me as they are missing the yokes that Boeings and other aircraft have.  I was just wondering if you felt somewhat detached from flying using a joystick instead of the more traditional yokes.