Latest Comment

Can you become an ai
Hi captain, I met with a road accident and got a s

Why do I experience
Having just returned from Newfoundland...I had two

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Travel > Where does the oxygenated cabin air of commercial airliner come from?
Where does the oxygenated cabin air of commercial airliner come from?
Flying - Air Travel
Monday, 14 January 2013 16:11

Jumbo Jet Lands With Gaping Hole in Side

Dear Capt. Lim,

Can you explain where the breathable cabin air of a commercial airliner comes from?

I know that for passenger comfort, the cabin is pressurized to 5000-7000 feet atmosphere but cruising at high altitudes (FL180 to FL400) where oxygen is very thin, where is the adequate oxygen needed for breathing comes from?

Is it coming from oxygen tanks tucked away somewhere below deck?

Are any stale air jettisoned or do they just keep recycling?

Does cabin air come in from engine intake or through separate air intake?

Thanks for your answers.

Regards,

James

Hi James

The breathable cabin air in all commercial airliners comes from air drawn in from the engine compressors. This compressed air is then regulated by valves in the plane and they are also responsible for the pressurization in the cabin.