Latest Comment

Vomiting on long hau
I have traveled a lot (almost 2 million miles) the

Can you become an ai
Hi captain , I had an accident 15 yrs ago and ha

Does a jet aircraft
Reading through the comments was both entertaining

Does a jet aircraft
So many nonsense here... Earth isn't flat. Period.

What are the cruisin
"how in the hell can you reach JFK if you leave fr

What are the eyesigh
tjsoihsdojfsioufs f post

What are the procedu
Hello Sir, I am currently B737NG Cpt.TRI /TRE hol

Could an A320 pilot
I plan to do ATR 72 -600 type rating , for that be

Is there less turbul
Flying from San Francisco to Philippines, end of M

What you have to do
Hi Capt . Im a grade 12 student and i really want

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Travel > Vomiting on long haul flight
Vomiting on long haul flight
Flying - Air Travel
Monday, 17 February 2014 14:50

Avoid Air Sickness on a Flight

Dear Mr Lim,

I love reading your blog and I recently bought your book from AirAsia. I have some questions and hope that you can help me.

My son is 12 years old. We travel a lot every year. He was ok flying long haul since he was a child until when he reached 9 and started vomiting non-stop during flights.

On many occasions, he even starts vomiting before leaving the house, then non-stop pre-boarding and during flights.

He seems to be ok for short haul flights (maybe up to 3 hours). We are still traveling nevertheless. He likes to travel but the constant vomiting really annoys us.

My questions are:

1) What causes vomiting in the flight? (He does not have any motion sickness).

2) How to overcome the problem? Are there any medications or exercises that can reduce the vomiting?

3) Malaysia Airlines nowadays do not carry sufficient sick bags, so we bring our own. Can we report to this to the air safety authority for violating any rules?