(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Airplanes > Are aircraft standards lowering in this recessionary age?
Are aircraft standards lowering in this recessionary age?
Aviation - Airplanes
Thursday, 24 November 2011 12:53

Boeing 787 first flight

Hi Captain Lim,

During these global recessionary times where one often hears how difficult it is for the airline industry to make money, I was wondering if I could ask your opinion on how you felt this impacted the safety of the aircraft themselves.

Of particular interest/concern of me is the reports that the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has quietly decided to loosen stringent fuel-tank safety regulations written after the 1996 fuel-tank explosion that destroyed flight TWA 800 off the coast of New York state.

I believe the FAA has relaxed the safeguards for preventing sparks inside the fuel tank during a lightning strike, as these standards the agency now calls "impractical" and coincidentally Boeing says its 787 Dreamliner cannot meet (its airframe is apparently built of composite plastic which makes lightning protection difficult).