(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Airplanes > The twin-engine versus four-engine plane debate
The twin-engine versus four-engine plane debate
Aviation - Airplanes
Friday, 27 October 2006 20:33

Hello Captain Lim,

A lot of people claim that twins are more economical than planes with four engines.

Can you explain the reason for that?

I know that twins have to be rated at double the amount of thrust normally needed, in case of engine failure at take off, and that quads only have to be rated at 33.3 percent more than normally needed, in case of the above mentioned.

So the engines on a wide body twin have to be huge compared to those of a quad. One should think that would also make them consume more fuel than the smaller quads?

Or do they win in the long run by the fact that they might need a lower thrust setting than quads while in cruise?

Thanks for a great web site.

Tonny,
Denmark

Hi Tonny,