(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Airplanes > Would a typhoon flip over a Boeing 777 or A340 better?
Would a typhoon flip over a Boeing 777 or A340 better?
Aviation - Airplanes
Saturday, 24 February 2007 09:20

Dear Captain Lim,

Do tell me, in the event of severe weather, say a typhoon like the one that crashed an MD 11 in Hong Kong, which aircraft would fair better? The Boeing 777 or the Airbus A340? You would think that, with 4 engines - stability is better on the A340. What if the Boeing 777*s engine stops working? Will there be drag enough to flip the plane over?

Also, another question would be, can these planes do a flip and still hold structural integrity? Are the planes designed to flip on its belly and flip back up, say in a severe cross wind or malfunction? Which plane would fair better? ...Bias is ok.

Tom Cal

Hi Tom,