Who's Online

We have 1555 guests online

Live Traffic Feed

Life in the Skies

'A Local Bestseller!'

What Tony says
(See here)
and Book Launch video here
 
What others say

Les Posen
(See
here)

Yvonne Lee
(See
here)

Louisa Lim & Allan Koay
(See
here)

Aireen Omar, Asran & Bo Lingam
(See
here)

38 Readers' Comments
(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

 For Local Availability - Check Here
 
Home > Airplanes > What is your opinion of the Fokker 100?
What is your opinion of the Fokker 100?
Aviation - Airplanes
Wednesday, 27 August 2008 23:34

Hello Captain Lim,

What is your opinion of the Fokker 100? Are they considered to be old aircraft or still in its prime?

Thank You

Dmitriy

Hi Dmitriy,

The Fokker 100 was a popular aircraft in the late 1980s but the improved models of the Boeing 737 and Airbus A319 soon affected its sale and Fokker became insolvent thereafter. The last production of the plane ended in 1997 and up to August 2006, only 229 Fokker 100s remained with around 47 airlines around the world.

How old can an airplane be considered as old? (See previous posting here). There was no consensus but manufacturers came up with a figure of twenty years as the intended economic life.  Soon, twenty years became the average age of US fleets. Today, manufactures and airlines refuse to agree on when old is too old because the life span of an airplane can be extended.

All aircraft components have a lifespan that is monitored very closely by maintenance. When they are due for replacement, the components must be changed and the licensed aircraft engineers are under a duty to certify its replacement. Unlike a car where most people only replace a particular part when it breaks down, a fully serviceable component in an aircraft must be replaced when the life, measured in terms of hours are due.  Therefore, an older aircraft with new components after a major overhaul is almost just as good as ‘new'.  Hence there is a reluctance to establish a definite age for a plane when it can be considered as a geriatric jet!

Now, even though regulations are in place to ensure planes are well maintained, there is the element of good supervision. So, provided the airlines operating the Fokker 100 have good safety records, I would not consider the plane as being in its "prime" in the way you have suggested it.

On 2 January 2008, during the take off in snowfall, a Fokker 100 suffered a failure on its left engine. It then ran off the side of the runway and caught fire. Its main gear collapsed on its way. All on board were able to escape with no or minor injuries. The aircraft was gutted by flames before airport fire service arrived. See video below.

Iran Air Fokker 100 Crash

Trackback(0)

TrackBack URI for this entry

Comments (5)

Subscribe to this comment's feed
...
Shouldn't the plane either not have taken off? But can't it still function with one engine?
Derek , 19 May, 2009
Fokker - Safe or Old
A Click Mexicana Fokker 100, registration XA-JXT performing flight QA-7574 from Cancun (Mexico) to Havana (Cuba) with 86 passengers and 4 crew, rejected takeoff from Cancun at high speed when the crew noticed a fire indication on one engine. The crew of another aircraft waiting for departure radioed the right hand engine on fire. The Click crew steered their airplane off the runway onto a taxiway, where the aircraft was evacuated. Emergency services responded and put the fire out.
Jose , 12 Aug, 2009
You rather abort take off
Twin engine aircraft, especially those with rear engine location (Fokker 100)and especially at sea level (Cancun) can take off with only one engine. Nevertheless if the problem is fire not only failure in one engine, and the take off run has not reached the no turn point, its better is to abort and let the fire brigade help on the ground. What Mexicana Click crew did was impecable!
Chuck Seyde , 30 Dec, 2009
M.D.
I am a frequent flyer for last 30 years, and believe this is worst airplane that one can chose to fly. smilies/kiss.gif
kamran , 25 Jul, 2014
Student
I flew on a Fokker 100 plane - dec 2015 - got to amsterdam on klm flight and then was rebooked onto a Carpetair flight to Tallinn Estonia - later researched it as Romainian airlines - plane was at least over 30 years old - my partner worked for AA so I am quite familiar with aircraft - had I knew I would be flying so old an aircraft i def would have taken other alternative airline - tho staff and crew were very good and I was lucky I was sat at side of friendly Russian lady who Kept me chatting - altho we were worried about the age of the aircraft - lot of noise and smell and chair was mouldy in my opinion aircraft that age shouldn't be in service -
Julie , 17 Jan, 2016

Write comment

smaller | bigger

busy
 

Paperback Version

 For Local Availability - Check Here

Recommended By..


LIFE IN THE SKIES

'A Local Bestseller!'

Recommended by

Patrick Smith
Boston USA
(See
here)

Capt Meryl Getline
ex-United Airlines USA
(See
here)

Capt Doug Morris
Canadian Airlines
(See
here)

Capt  Robert J Boser
ex-United Airlines USA
(See
here)

38 Readers' Comments
(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

View Book Launch video here

Follow me

@CaptKHLim

Like What You Read?


If you like what you read, more stories are found in my book LIFE IN THE SKIES (Preview here) and you can purchase a copy here. To check for any latest updates or postings, you can follow my Twitter at @CaptKHLim or Facebook here

MH 370 Interviews

Click here to View

10 Most Popular Posts



Disclaimer | Privacy
2004 - 2011 © AskCaptainLim.com | Site Concept by eQuilec.com