(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Airplanes > Why the flight deck of an airplane is called a "cockpit"?
Why the flight deck of an airplane is called a "cockpit"?
Aviation - Airplanes
Sunday, 29 August 2010 13:18

Dear Captain Lim,

Why the flight deck of an airplane is called a "cockpit"?

Regards,

Masuma.

Hi Masuma,

Since the day I started to fly an airplane, the area where the pilots sit in front to control the plane has always being referred to as the “cockpit”.  Why it is often referred to as such is probably due to the fascination and uniqueness of this term. There are neither “cocks” nor “pits” around in the first place and yet the term is stuck to mean the flight deck of an airliner.

From the sources that I have researched, "cockpit" also comes from the rather barbaric sport of cockfighting and refers to the pit in which the fights occurred. Shortly thereafter, the word naturally attained a connotation as being related to any scene of grisly combat.

Let’s have a look at an excerpt from word-detective.com: