(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Airplanes > Which plane would you choose - Boeing 747-400, Airbus A340 or A380?
Which plane would you choose - Boeing 747-400, Airbus A340 or A380?
Aviation - Airplanes
Monday, 25 April 2011 12:42

Lufthansa Boeing 747-400 at Frankfurt

Good morning, Dear Captain alt,

First of all I would like to thank you for your website. It is very informative and I really enjoy reading your answers.

I would like to ask you a question and that is: I am traveling with Lufthansa in June. I have booked a ticket to fly on the 747-400. I looked online in several websites (PlaneSpotters, for instance) and I see the fleet they use for the itinerary is very old and most of the planes are between 21 and 23 years old. I have the chance to change my reservation (for 100 euro) to the later flight with the Airbus 340-300 also with Lufthansa.

I am a nervous flier and I have read age is an important factor in the safety of an airplane, due to, among other causes, metal fatigue.

What should I do? I also know the 747-400 is a noisier plane than the Airbus 340-300.