(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Airways > Where in the World am I?
Where in the World am I?
Flying - Airways
Friday, 22 September 2006 09:32

Hi Capt Lim,

Good to have you back!!

I fly quite a bit, and enjoy taking pictures along the way. Unfortunately I usually don*t know where we are at any given time.

My camera puts a time stamp on the picture file, and since I almost always take photographs during the takeoff and landing, I know those times, and thus the time from the origination and destination airport to a given location. But the distance has me thrown. Is there a rough average speed I should consider to do this calculation?

I recently flew from Ontario (California) to Nashville (Tennessee), and we flew over a couple of airports. I knew the elapsed time, and I figured 300 mph for the speed. I used a highway map to find the approximate location, which turned out to be either Phoenix, Flagstaff or Las Vegas. Then I went to the Internet to find runway diagrams for those three cities, but none of them matched my pictures!