(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Airways > Navigating in the air
Navigating in the air
Flying - Airways
Tuesday, 11 December 2007 21:37

GPS in Air Navigation and Air Safety

Flying has torn apart the relationship of space and time: it uses our old clock but with new yardsticks.

— Charles A. Lindbergh

How pilots navigate in the air?

The trick is using the GPS or Global Positioning System, our navigator, so to speak. For centuries, navigators and explorers have searched the heavens for a system that would enable them to locate their position on the globe with the accuracy necessary to avoid tragedy and to reach their intended destinations.

The GPS was developed by the USA military and operated by the Department of Defense. Besides aviation, the GPS is also used by other agencies for navigational purposes. They include the shipping, automobile and other industries where exact positioning on the globe is essential.