(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Airways > Is it possible to fly non-stop from London to Sydney?
Is it possible to fly non-stop from London to Sydney?
Flying - Airways
Wednesday, 09 November 2005 02:05

Dear Captain Lim,

As you may know, Singapore Airlines have recently introduced a direct flight from Singapore to New York, a distance of 16,600 kilometers and an 18 hour flight.

A friend and I have been discussing the possibility of a direct flight from London to Sydney that is a distance of only around 300 kilometers more (i.e. 16,900 kilometers). But the question remains if it is even possible to open a direct flight because of jet streams. And if it were, how long would the flight take approximately?

Do you know anything about this or do you know who else might be able to answer this question?

Thank you in advance.

Regards,

Karen Lysholm

Hi Karen,