(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Airways > Nearest emergency airports, curve air routes and cabin doors issues.
Nearest emergency airports, curve air routes and cabin doors issues.
Flying - Airways
Monday, 07 January 2008 19:56

Hi Capt Lim,

First, I would like to say that this is the greatest web page I have found on flying. Thanks!

I have two questions:-

You mentioned that, when flying long distance over water, the route is never further than one hour from an airport for any emergency landings. I wondered about this while looking at the map in the airline magazine. When flying from TYO (Tokyo) to LAX (Los Angeles), where are the emergency airports on route? Also, when flying from LAX to TYO, why does the route head further north and then further south when returning to LAX?

In flight, I also see people standing around the door areas and I am sure there is no way they could open it, but tell me, am I correct about this! :) ..one of those silly questions I guess that I have wondered about.