(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Airways > What would happen after an emergency landing in the Arctic Circle?
What would happen after an emergency landing in the Arctic Circle?
Flying - Airways
Wednesday, 26 March 2008 06:35
Dear Capt Lim,

Thank you very much for your site. I find it very informative! Although the odds of this happening are slim to none, it always sparked my curiosity as to what would happen after an in-flight emergency force a plane to land in the Arctic Circle.

Say for example, a Boeing 777 departing O'Hare and arriving in Hong Kong suffers an in-flight emergency forcing the captain to land the aircraft immediately while flying over the Arctic Circle.

a. Would the captain be able to make a safe landing?

b. If the aircraft was able to land safely, how long would the plane be able to protect itself from the bitter weather?

c. Is there any sort of procedure for a rescue flight for the stranded passengers?

Thank you very much in advance!

Adam Rosen

Polar Routes from O'hare to Hong Kong

Hi Adam,