(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Emergencies > What if the ailerons ceased to function?
What if the ailerons ceased to function?
Flying - Emergencies
Monday, 11 December 2006 07:17

Hi Captain Lim,

I hope you have a chance to answer this one: What if the ailerons ceased to function?

Regards,

TB Boston

Hi Tim,

The function of ailerons is to enable a plane to turn left or right in flight. The word ?aileron? means "little wing" in French. They are hinged control surfaces attached to the back of the wings so that when one goes up, the other one goes down; the up going aileron reduces the lift whilst the down going one increases the lift. This produces a rolling moment that enables the plane to turn when the pilot in the cockpit moves the control column (steering wheel).

So, is it critical if the ailerons ceased to function? Depending on the type of plane involved (light single engine aircraft or large commercial jets), it does pose a problem but it is not entirely a life and death issue. Some form of control is still possible.