(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Emergencies > What is the pilot's elevator failure drills during take off?
What is the pilot's elevator failure drills during take off?
Flying - Emergencies
Wednesday, 16 November 2005 06:24

Hi Captain Lim,

I have a question on elevators. There have been a lot of questions on engine failure after V1 (safety speed) and so on. I have a scenario where the elevators fail during takeoff. I know the control surfaces are checked for proper working during the taxi.

As the aircraft starts its takeoff run, crosses V1 and reaches the Vr (rotate speed), the pilot pulls the control column to rotate the nose up. The elevators fail to work (due to mechanical/electrical failure, etc) and the pilot have no warning till that point of the malfunction. The engines are on full thrust but the aircraft is not airborne yet.

What action can be taken? Does the simulator have any such scenario?

Thank you

Sridhar

Hi Sridhar,