Latest Comment

Can you become an ai
Hi captain, I met with a road accident and got a s

Why do I experience
Having just returned from Newfoundland...I had two

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Emergencies > How often does a jet engine "backfire"?
How often does a jet engine "backfire"?
Flying - Emergencies
Saturday, 14 January 2006 09:26

Dear Captain Lim,

Thanks for an amazing site. I*ve learned an incredible amount since I discovered it a few weeks back.

I've always enjoyed flying as a passenger without any problems, but a recent incident on a domestic flight between Johannesburg and Cape Town has frayed my nerves a little, and prompted a few questions.

I think the aircraft concerned was a Boeing 737-200, operated by Nationwide Airlines of South Africa. Soon after take-off, about 40 seconds into the ascent, a loud banging noise was heard coming from the left engine. It was considerably louder than the normal engine noise, and caused a few anxious looks among fellow passengers. The banging lasted about 20 seconds before abating. Shortly afterward the Captain came on the intercom and explained that the noise was related to a build-up of compressed air in the engine, resulting in the equivalent of an engine "backfire". He went on to stress that there was absolutely nothing wrong with the engine, and we continued on our journey to Cape Town without incident.