Latest Comment

Can you become an ai
Hi captain, I met with a road accident and got a s

Why do I experience
Having just returned from Newfoundland...I had two

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Fear of Flying > Capt Sully: “It is important not to define safety as an absence of accidents…”
Capt Sully: “It is important not to define safety as an absence of accidents…”
Flying - Fear of Flying
Wednesday, 20 August 2014 03:31

How Safe is Flying?

Hi Captain Lim,

I am Keith from Singapore. My school has organised a trip to Taiwan but my parents did not allow me to go at first. However, after much persuasion, she changed her mind. That was before the MH17 crash. (My deepest condolences to the lost lives)

After MH 17 crashed, she started to develop this fear of me going abroad (which I have done once by myself and many times with my family) She said she was very worried as she thought something could happen to me

I have read your book, Life In The Skies and I assured her about the safety about flying you have written in your book but my mom still have that fear in her...

Please help me.

And one more thing, when I grow up I really want to become a pilot like you then retire and become a "pilot teacher"

Could you please give me some insight on what you learn when you undergo the pilot training.

Thank you

Keith

Hi Keith,