(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Fear of Flying > Why didn't the pilot explain this to the passengers before takeoff?
Why didn't the pilot explain this to the passengers before takeoff?
Flying - Fear of Flying
Sunday, 26 July 2009 07:39

Capt Lim, love your website!

Back in the mid 1990's I was on a flight from Washington National Airport to Norfolk International - a short hop of about 45 minutes. The plane was a Boeing 737. I had flown numerous times in the past, and have a decent understanding of flight dynamics.

Normally, when you take off you are cleared to fly the runway heading up to a predetermined altitude. This initial "climb-out' usually lasts for several minutes - but this flight was very different. Within 30 seconds of take off, there was a sharp left turn during which the engines were significantly throttled back. Then a sharp turn back to the right during which the throttles went to full power.