(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Medical > Do captains have the discretion to divert on medical emergencies?
Do captains have the discretion to divert on medical emergencies?
Flying - Medical
Friday, 06 April 2007 09:10

Dear Capt Lim,

Haven't received the FAQ updates from you for a while now but I still managed to read some of the FAQ from your Webblog. I hope everything is going well with you.

With the recent report of the British Airways dead passenger, I can't help but wonder how crews react in/to the situation and what decisions are made. Though it's a rare case but there surely are other unexpected incidents occurring. There's not much update on on-board handling of medical issues (correct me if I'm wrong). Hence I*m triggered by it to ask more.

I believe both cabin crews and probably flight crews too will have to undergo First Aid and CPR course as part of their training.

a. Were they taught the basic cardiac life support as well?

b. What other training is required?