(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Medical > What are the hazards of long range flights? - Deep Vein Thrombosis
What are the hazards of long range flights? - Deep Vein Thrombosis
Flying - Medical
Tuesday, 08 January 2008 19:09

As more airplanes are flying non-stop to save cost and time, a new complaint have arisen. Passengers are more conscious and fastidious about seating and legroom in the coach or economy class. Some airlines are trying to pack seats tighter and tighter to squeeze in as many passengers in the cabin as possible to cut cost. This result in less legroom, causing frequent flyers in economy class to cry foul. Hence the name 'economy class syndrome' or deep vein thrombosis (DVT).

This 'economy class syndrome', in reality, can affect all classes of passengers in all forms of transport. The exact cause of DVT is not very clear, but prolonged immobility and dehydration can increase it risks. Other risk factors include hormone therapy, the use of contraceptive pills, pregnancy, smoking, post surgery, advanced cancer, obesity and hereditary factors.