(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Medical > What causes the air pressure inside my ears when the aircraft takes off?
What causes the air pressure inside my ears when the aircraft takes off?
Flying - Medical
Tuesday, 08 January 2008 19:13

Hello Capt Lim,

I have just been to your "Fear of flying" website and I think it is very informative especially if you are interested in jet aircraft as I am.
I would like to thank you for making a site such as this and congratulate you for doing such a good job of it.

I wonder if you could/would possibly answer a question for me. I do not actually have a fear of flying (although I did a little on my first flight) but I do seem to suffer from a feeling of air pressure in my head when the plane takes off and when it turns and of course if there is turbulence. This does not seem to happen during descent unless the plane turns on approach. I also suffer from this in elevators whether they are going up or down.

Can you tell me what might cause this and how I could fix it?

A. John

Hi John,