PLEASE stop asking about your eyes!!! Read the art

Vomiting on long hau
I have traveled a lot (almost 2 million miles) the

Can you become an ai
Hi captain , I had an accident 15 yrs ago and ha

Does a jet aircraft
Reading through the comments was both entertaining

Does a jet aircraft
So many nonsense here... Earth isn't flat. Period.

What are the cruisin
"how in the hell can you reach JFK if you leave fr

What are the eyesigh
tjsoihsdojfsioufs f post

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Training > My experience with engine cowling falling off in flight...
My experience with engine cowling falling off in flight...
Pilot Career - Training Schools
Thursday, 20 March 2008 07:19

Hi Capt Lim,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for this wonderful website. This is a true contribution to the world of aviation enthusiasts!

I would like to share my experience with you and if you may allow it, also with all your readers. I am a Cadet Pilot, studying in Malaysian Flying Academy (MFA). My first solo happened last year on a Piper Warrior 28-161.

During my first solo, right after take-off, at around 200 feet, my engine cowling "exploded open". It was flapping, causing a lot of noise and limiting my visibility. As you may understand, I was already sweating due to my nervousness on my first solo and I would never imagine this situation to happen!

I contacted tower straight away and advised them of my situation. Communication was a bit hard due to the noise and I had to be frequently advised of the traffic as I had trouble looking forward. During final approach this became worse. I had to stretch my neck to look from the co-pilot seat. When I established short finals at around 100 ft above the runway, my engine cowling smashed into my windscreen, reducing the visibility to zero.