(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Age > Would my age play a big factor here?
Would my age play a big factor here?
Pilot Career - Age
Tuesday, 19 July 2011 06:25

Embry Riddle Aeronautical University

Hi Capt Lim,

My name is Dimitrios and I attended Embry Riddle Aeronautical University back in the early 80's where my dream was to fly for a living, I completed most of the 4 year program but not the flight school.

I am 49 years old and I am strongly thinking of going back to school and complete all my certificates and ratings. I understand the age increase has gone up in the airlines from 60 to 65 which motivate me even more.

Regional Airlines is now my focus since many are hiring pilots with 500TT of which 200 is multi engine time. My question is this Captain, would my age play a big factor here?

Would a Regional Airline or Airline have a problem hiring someone like me provided my medical conditions are good and I have enough hours? My friend who flies for FedEx tells me I would be right around 54 when I should have more than enough hours to qualify for any regional airline.