(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Turbulence > Is it true that turbulence over the North Atlantic is worse in winter?
Is it true that turbulence over the North Atlantic is worse in winter?
Weather - Air Turbulence
Wednesday, 02 November 2011 11:16

Somewhere over the Atlantic

Hi Captain Lim,

I read your website often. Thank you for all the wonderful information!

I hope you can help me with my questions.

My 80-year old mother and I are flying to Munich from Boston in mid-December for a Christmas river cruise. We recently heard that turbulence over the North Atlantic is bad in winter due to increased strength of the jet stream. Also, this year is a La Nina year which makes the jet stream even stronger.

We are both very fearful flyers and my mother is now thinking we should cancel our trip because she is very afraid of encountering long periods of strong turbulence (the kind where flight attendants have to be seated)

Is it true turbulence over the North Atlantic is worse in winter and if so, is it bad every day/routinely?

Is it worse eastbound or west or both?