(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Turbulence > Have you ever experienced side to side turbulence?
Have you ever experienced side to side turbulence?
Weather - Air Turbulence
Tuesday, 23 October 2007 06:57

Dear Captain Lim,

Just came across your website and have started reading the section on turbulence. There is much good information here. I am a frequent flyer and have learned a great deal from your explanations. If this question has been asked already, please disregard.

I was a First Class passenger on a Northwest B747 that left Honolulu en-route to Seattle. It was an afternoon departure with an arrival in Seattle at about 1230 am. Shortly after it got dark over the ocean, we stated to experience moderate turbulence that did not bounce the plane up and down, no - this turbulence bounced us from SIDE to SIDE. It would start and go for awhile and then stop. Then start again for about 15 minutes and then stop. This kept up until we were within 30 minutes of Seattle.