(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Turbulence > Turbulence, lightning and its avoidance in the air…
Turbulence, lightning and its avoidance in the air…
Weather - Air Turbulence
Wednesday, 29 July 2009 15:04

Hi Captain Lim,

I love your site, it's very useful. I wish there were more sites like yours. I, like many people who cruise by your site, really hate flying, because of turbulence. After decades of flying, I still hate air travel; therefore I will like to take this opportunity to ask you a few silly questions. Hope you don't mind:

Q1: What can pilots do if they encounter turbulence that is not seen on radar... Are there any ways to avoid those types of turbulence (they have been popping up all over the news)?

Q2: In terms of lightning, I know modern jets are designed to absorb it, but some infos that I have come across mentions that positive charged lightning can destroy an aircraft. Is that true? & if so, what can pilots do to avoid getting into those situations?