Latest Comment

Can you become an ai
Hi captain, I met with a road accident and got a s

Why do I experience
Having just returned from Newfoundland...I had two

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Airlines > What are your thoughts on Low Cost Airlines Scoot and their pilots?
What are your thoughts on Low Cost Airlines Scoot and their pilots?
Aviation - Airlines
Wednesday, 01 January 2014 02:59

Scoot budget airline launched

Hi Capt Lim,

It was a marvellous book of yours which I have just finished reading - congratulations on a wonderful career.

I was wondering what your thoughts are on low cost airline Scoot and in particular what their pilots are like?

Thanks

Glen (Australia)

Hi Glen,

Thank you for your compliments on my book (Life in the Skies).

Scoot is basically an ultra-low cost long haul carrier set up by Singapore Airlines (SQ) to compete with Malaysia’s AirAsia X. SQ had felt the competition that had their market share reduced and their solution was to outdo AAX. As such, Scoot’s business model is a carbon copy of Malaysia’s highly successful AirAsia X and even many of the routes are the same.

The fares are cheap but at the expense of their other on-board services.