(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Airlines > Why are some airlines still operating despite great losses?
Why are some airlines still operating despite great losses?
Aviation - Airlines
Thursday, 01 January 2009 12:59

Dear Capt Lim,

I am blessed to be able to access such a marvelous site.

I have two questions:-

1. Are aircraft such as the A310, B737-300 and B777 still profitable today? I would like you to explain a bit especially with reference to PIA and Air India. What about the profitability of the A330 and A340-300/500/600?

2. I have read in the news that both PIA and Air India are suffering from a millions of dollars in losses along with many other airlines in the region. After losing so much, why are these airlines still around? Why don’t they go bankrupt? It is as if they are making profits but they don’t seem to meet the goals they have set.

What are the actual financial losses?

Sannan

Hi Sannan,