Latest Comment

Can you become an ai
Hi captain, I met with a road accident and got a s

Why do I experience
Having just returned from Newfoundland...I had two

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Becoming a Pilot > A veterinarian’s dilemma
A veterinarian’s dilemma
Pilot Career - Becoming a Pilot
Wednesday, 25 July 2012 14:25

Completely Honest Guy : Completely Honest Veterinarian

Dear Captain Lim,

I’m in a dilemma of becoming a pilot or stick on to my profession as a veterinarian. I don’t know who to ask but I think maybe you can help me out with this.

I’m in pharmaceutical line for about 2 years now and currently 27 years old. I studied for 5 years and it’s been a hard work. I thought I could be earning big bucks after I graduated but nope, I only have a basic salary of only RM3000 +. Together with all the allowance and commissions, I can only earn up to RM5000
As I look down the road, the highest position I can go is to become a country manager when I am around 45 years old with a basic of about RM15,000 a month.

Looking at the pilot as a profession, a first officer can easily earn that amount after 2-3 years as a second officer. I’m telling myself; am I going to wait till I’m 45 years old to earn that amount when I know I can do it now or maybe the most, at 31-32 years old?