(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Becoming a Pilot > How to unfreeze an ATPL (Airline Transport Pilot Licence)?
How to unfreeze an ATPL (Airline Transport Pilot Licence)?
Pilot Career - Becoming a Pilot
Saturday, 12 July 2014 13:41

The Great Airline Pilot Shortage Myth (Part I)

Hello Captain,

After getting a frozen ATPL, where can a pilot accumulate 1500 flying hours and how long will it take approximately to unfreeze the licence?

Jafar

Hi Jafar,

I will answer your question by elaborating a little on some basic information for the rest of the readers or aspiring pilots.

Basic Information

A student from a flying school will normally graduate with a CPL (Commercial Pilot Licence) and IR (Instrumental Rating) (CPL+IR). This Licence is known as the Frozen ATPL.

If a pilot is issued with only a CPL without the IR, he can fly under Visual Flight Rules (VFR) which means he is not permitted to fly in clouds (bad weather) and only navigate visually by looking out of the plane.