Latest Comment

Can you become an ai
Hi captain, I met with a road accident and got a s

Why do I experience
Having just returned from Newfoundland...I had two

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > ETOPS > Whether proposals of ETOPS applicability to 3-or-4 engines affect the Boeing 777?
Whether proposals of ETOPS applicability to 3-or-4 engines affect the Boeing 777?
Flying - ETOPS
Written by Capt Lim   
Thursday, 06 December 2007 19:22

Hi Captain Lim,

(1) I heard that ETOPS rules are getting changed... something like twin jets ought to be considered as 4-engine jets, etc. Has it affected Boeing 777 operations?

(2) Regarding the incident on the Airbus 300 that crashed at New York where one of the
engines separated from the wing. As far as I know, only engine out is practiced in simulator before V1 and at V2. So how this is taken care of if it happens to a Boeing 777? Is this scenario also practiced in the simulator?

Is the "TAC" (Thrust Asymmetric Compensator) designed to take this into consideration?