(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > ETOPS > Could you explain what "wet footprint" is all about?
Could you explain what "wet footprint" is all about?
Flying - ETOPS
Written by Capt Lim   
Tuesday, 14 October 2008 04:11

Hi Capt Lim,

I am an ex-Air Force pilot where I flew transport planes from small turboprops to the Airbus A310. Now I am flying as a corporate pilot, and while surfing on aeronautic matters in the web, I found that term ‘wet footprint'. It seems to be "when flying over water, the maximum distance one could glide, should engine[s] fail, and still end up landing in the water" - so confusing isn't it?.

Could you please give me some more information about it - how to compute it, etc?

Thanks

Manuel Alcaide

Hi Manuel,

Remember my answer on ETOPS (‘Engine Turns or Passengers Swims') here? Well ‘wet footprint' is another term to mean that some commercial aircraft are not allowed to operate along this portion of the route unless it has the ETOPS coverage.