(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Eyesight > Should I mortgage my house to take up flying after my Lasik surgery?
Should I mortgage my house to take up flying after my Lasik surgery?
Pilot Career - Eyesight
Thursday, 25 August 2011 16:20

Lasik Eye Surgery

Hi Captain Lim,

How are you? I am Thomas. I’ve written to you before regarding my eye problem (keratoconus) I’ve read some of your answers and found this informatiom from your response to others.

For your information, I’ve undergone the Lasik surgery to stabilize my keratoconus problem. DCAM gave me the green light to go ahead with Lasik surgery subject to the vision getting stabilized after 1 year with regular checkups with the AME. However, my vision after surgery is still not that perfect. Briefly, without correction, the readings are:-

Short sighted: Right eyes (20/20)
Left eyes (more than 6.0 dioptres)
Astigmatism: 6.0 and 7.0 dioptres

But I am able to achieve perfect vision with (RGP) Gas permeable contact lenses. I’ve also seen Dr.Kee as you have recommended. He told me the DCAM requirements are as follows: