Latest Comment

Can you become an ai
Hi captain, I met with a road accident and got a s

Why do I experience
Having just returned from Newfoundland...I had two

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Eyesight > Should I proceed with the keratoconus eye surgery?
Should I proceed with the keratoconus eye surgery?
Pilot Career - Eyesight
Saturday, 08 January 2011 19:37

Hello Captain Lim,

I am Thomas, 22 from Penang. Currently, I am applying for the initial CPL. Thanks for your informative website but I have a problem with my eyes which I think is new in your questionnaire.

I've been to the medical checkup and was diagnosed with an eye sickness known as keratoconus - a progressive and structural change within the cornea which causes it to become thinner and change to a more conical shape than its normal gradual curve.

I was told that I couldn’t pass the medical checkup and they don't accept any corrective lenses but recently on my research from the internet I found out from the FAA and ICAO manual which states that:

“Applicants with keratoconus may be considered for a fit assessment if the visual requirements are met with the use of corrective lenses and periodic review is undertaken by an ophthalmologist.”

Keratoconus Surgeries: Think Beyond the "CONE"