(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Flying on the Boeing 777 > Was the Concorde as safe as the Boeing 777?
Was the Concorde as safe as the Boeing 777?
Flying - Flying on the Boeing 777
Monday, 16 October 2006 09:17

Hello Capt Lim,

Thank you again for this really great site. I have a few questions to ask about the Concorde and flying generally.

I noticed that the Concorde did not have any flaps or slats. Instead, it would change the position of the nose. How does this work?

Do you think they will ever bring back the Concorde?

What design specifications make the Concorde able to break the sound barrier while, if any other airplanes come near the sound barrier, they would break apart?

Do you think the Concorde was as safe as the Boeing 777?

Do pilots sometimes cut the power too soon after takeoff? I remember being on a flight and the pilot reduce the power as soon as the airplane left the ground and the airplane, kind of, slowly went down a little. It was not scary because it happened so fast. How common is this though?

Andrew Henry.

Hi Andrew,